Second Year Programme

Two Year Diploma Programme

Course level:  Diploma (Associate degree equivalent)

Objectives of this level:  This programme builds on the Certificate programme and prepares students for a variety of church ministries, by offering a solid foundation of Bible, Theology, and more advanced Leadership courses. This programme, like the previous one, pays attention to the growth of students in all three dimensions of spiritual, cognitive (academic) and ministry.

Manner of Study:  same as certificate level.

Recommended duration for this course level:  3 to 5 years in the case of part-time studying. The faculty advises the students of this programme to complete their courses during a maximum of 5 years by taking at least two courses in each semester.

Number of credits:  60 credits (beyond the first year), i.e. a total of 120 credits.

Credit distribution:  Students must take at least 29 credits in core courses, 8 to 12 credits in non-video courses and the rest in elective courses.

The total number of credits of the diploma programme (which includes and builds on the certificate level) will be as follows:

Foundational Modules: 25 credits
Core Modules: At least 45 credits
Elective Modules: 20 to 34 credits
Non-video Modules: 16 to 22 credits

Students can choose any elective course offered by the school as their elective credits, provided they have already taken the prerequisite courses for that course. Prerequisite courses for each course are specified in the student handbook and also in the course catalogue of Pars School of Theology.

Students who plan to continue their studies with Pars beyond the first two levels can take more credits of either core courses or electives. In this case, if their credits in these two categories exceed the set ceiling, the additional credits will be considered as counting towards the following level of study.

Students who, for acceptable reasons, are unable to pass the minimum number of non-video credits, can discuss their problem with the school management and ask for guidance if they intend to complete their studies. At the discretion of the faculty, students who continue their studies with Pars for a B.Th. degree may be allowed to compensate for the deficit of their non-video credits in the ensuing years.

The remaining courses from the Certificate Programme, plus:

  • The Ministry and Teachings of Jesus (5 ECTS)
  • Church (4 ECTS)
  • **Man, Sin, and Salvation (4 ECTS)
  • *The Person and the Work of Christ (4 ECTS)
  • Introduction to the Mission of the Church (4 ECTS)
  • Torah (4 ECTS)
  • Christian Worldview (5 ECTS)
  • Church History 2 (3 ECTS)
  • Introduction to Islam and Christian and Muslim Relations (5 ECTS)

*These modules are not yet ready

**One of these two modules should be taken as a Core module, and the other will be an

  • Spiritual Leadership 1 (4 ECTS)
  • Spiritual Leadership 2 (4 ECTS)
  • Spiritual Leadership 3 (4 ECTS)
  • Introduction to Christian Counselling (4 ECTS)
  • Crisis and Trauma Counselling (4 ECTS)
  • Domestic Violence and Addiction (4 ECTS)
  • Principles and methods of Christian Education (4 ECTS)
  • *Homiletics – Principles of Preaching (4 ECTS)
  • Introduction to the Ministry of Mentoring and Coaching (3 ECTS)
  • Pastoral Ministries (4 ECTS)
  • The Persecuted Church (3 ECTS)
  • Apologetics in Islamic Context (4 ECTS)
  • History of Iran (4 ECTS)
  • Science and Faith (4 ECTS)
  • Inner Healing and Deliverance Ministry (4 ECTS)
  • *Old Testament Narrative Books (3 ECTS)
  • *Old Testament Prophets (4 ECTS)
  • *Evangelism and Church Planting (4 ECTS)
  • *Ministry to Different Age Groups: children, youth (young adults), adults, elderly (4 ECTS)
  • *Worship (3 ECTS)
  • *Foundations and Patterns of Discipleship and Making Disciples (4 ECTS)
  • *Political Theology (4 ECTS)
  • *Theology of the Old Testament (4 ECTS)

* These modules are not yet ready

  • Integration project (1 ECTS)
  • Formation Conferences (4 to 6 ECTS)
  • Mentoring, Spiritual Guidance (1 – 3 ECTS)
  • Ministerial Practice and Reflection (3 to 9 ECTS)